top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Unit 20 - Task 5 3D Asset review

Updated: May 27, 2021

Welcome to the review of my created 3D assets. In this blog, I will talk about the progress on the 3D assets, the changes I made, what went well and what could be improved upon creating assets in the future.

Before starting on the 3D assets for the Tower That Never Was, I worked on a windup key for 3D modelling practices. This key was to help the class get into gear with this unit. It was to help out knowledge and gain skills of the tools we use throughout. We started off with a topology as it would be useful as a form of reference. The topology would act as an image in itself.


Click the link below on how I create my windup key: https://cade-mason.wixsite.com/website-1/post/unit-20-3d-modelling-windup-key - Add SketchFab links of the models Firstly, I wanted to talk about an unused concept for the finalisation of a VFX shot or a game engine asset, the Dark Tower: I created my own dark tower asset in Autodesk Maya. Due to this asset being a stretch goal of the unit, I had fun creating this however due to time constraints I wasn't able to get the tower done in time as I have been working on getting the revolver done for a VFX shot. What could've been improved here was that the geometry I made was rather complicated and a bit of a mess I was going the artistic route more over the reference itself. I should've paid more attention to how the geometry and edge were all made. I had a similar situation to the Revolver when I was in the process in producing the model. Unlike the revolver, the tower's design was quite complex when I produced it.


Here is the link for the tower below:



Here are my main assets that were used for VFX shots. The unfound door:


Personally, I am quite happy with how the door turned out, I love the smoothness of the door and the realistic materials that were implemented onto the textures themselves. I wanted to make the door look new and realistic. The door didn't have any artistic direction when this model was being produced.

If you want to know about how I created the unfound door click the links below:


The links above entail and go in-depth about the process. (loads of screenshots of progress too!)

Revolver:


Whilst I am pleased with how the revolver turned out, I think I could've used some more details for the revolver's textures. Due to the artistic route of producing this revolver, I had a tough time producing the revolver due to model issues with the revolver itself.


If you want to know about how I went creating my revolver click the links below:


The links above entail and go in-depth about the process. (loads of screenshots of progress too!)


My asset if it were a game engine.


My revolver asset would be used for a first-person or third-person shooter game. The revolver blends in perfectly well as a 3D asset for realistic shooter games. As the model has realistic textures, I can see the game being implemented into game franchises such as Call of Duty, Battlefield, Counter-Strike etc. If my asset was used for a game, I would implement the asset in either Unity or Unreal Engine although I am leaning towards Unreal Engine considering that Unreal Engine has the best utilization and presentation for realistic photographic imagery for games.


Identifying the audience with my asset


For FPS players that play on PC, some like the performance side of things but other players desire the graphical power, achieving the highest graphic settings.


The revolver's graphics may need multiple changes to adjust to graphical settings on PC. As to how I would go about this is using low poly textures on the lowest settings then using high poly textures (possibly with PBR materials) on the highest settings. This matches the PC gaming in audience. It would be the same asset with different texture materials based on graphical output.


Changes and improvements for future projects:

There are changes that I need to improve myself when creating 3D assets in the future. I will make sure to be careful and precise when creating the 3D assets. I will need to learn how to implement 3D assets into a game engine (which was my original plan from the start). Furthermore, I will strive to work smarter over harder.

Overall having the attention to detail and being careful when working on your model helps. No one doesn't want to mess up the process of their models and having to take stepbacks.


- Include the SketchFab files as URL links for this blog.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page