top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Matte Painting practice

In Leigh's lesson, we went over Matte Paintings. For this task, I had to grab a video from the internet (Pexels). Once I obtained the video that was suggested from Leigh I opened up Premiere Pro and created a new composition file. This exercise (personally) helped me refreshed my memoryinto producing matte paintings.


Once I named the file and placed the file in the location I wanted it to be, I grabbed the video I downloaded from Pexels and placed it into the composition. The video itself approximately lasts for 20 seconds and placed the video onto the composition timeline.







Now for the very first frame for this video, I exported one frame of video. To do this the shortcut method is Shift+E or you can click on the camera icon which is located on the composition.

This was the frame I exported:


Now to avoid copyright issues and to enter in creative commons territory you will need to search for images on google and under 'tools' change the Usage Rights from "All" to "Creative Commons licenses". For the composition, I changed the image size to "Large" on Google images. Originally I was going to add a warehouse image to the composition, however, taking a closer look at the composition, personally, it didn't make sense of where I would place the warehouse or how I see the image to blend into the composition. So I chose a different image instead. Which I selected the tower. I implemented the tower in photoshop and added a layer mask. I would change the opacity for the tower image to see where exactly where I would blend the image. I used black to paint over the mask to "erase" over the areas which didn't cover the tower.


I added a new layer and doubled clicked the "tower" layer and new layer. From there I "rasterized layers" I transformed the image and rotated to a perfect degree where it would lie in the pathway next to the water. Furthermore, I also clone stamped the tower to appropriately place the tower right onto the surface of the pathway. Next thing I did was I went back into Premiere Pro and implemented the river_still_matte_painting_edit_tower_only file and when it imports I turned "layer 1" off as it was unnecessary to add in the composition meaning it would only add the tower layer into the composition. Once that was added I played the video and gave it a go.


And now the video is finished! Overall, I feel the way the tower sits inside the composition doesn't really sit well within the environment. Thankfully, the clone stamp tool is a neat "fix" to the problem. It still doesn't sit well, however, will be harder to see on the human eyes until the critical eye uses perception and perspective. Would I go back to it and fix it? Sure if I have the time and am in the mood to fix the tower then yes sure! Though for now, I have had other work-related stuff I need to get on with.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page