top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Creating the Game Design Prototype website.

For unit 35, I had to create my own website.


For the website, I used a WIX ADI creation. I answered some questions and chose the 'portfolio' option this portfolio led to a 'Game Design Portfolio'.


The theme I chose for the website is minimal. The minimal theme is balance and simple with a touch of refinement. In terms of minimal, I decided to go with a black background and white text the reason why I went with this choice of colour is that:


"Our brains commit this to memory as a symbol. This can then be referenced later for recognition. If there is a lot of text on a dark background you can try reading it yourself and notice that your brain is struggling to interpret it not as a symbol but as content to be understood and committed to memory more how it would with dark text on a light background."


Examples

  • Logos

  • Billboards

  • Headlines

  • Media (movies/photos/etc.)

Next step of the process. The next part of this process is to create a wireframe and diagram.


I made a blog regarding creating my wireframe and diagram for my websites. Here are the wireframes I made on pencil and paper:



Once I had created the wireframe and diagram, I created my game design document website through Wix.


With this website, I took into consideration the psychology elements, what makes a good UI design for the website itself and what's convenient for the website.

Once the website is created, I plan on making a survey to gather customer feedback from focus groups.


Creating the game design website (version 1)


Creating my game design document website, I had thought and taken the following elements into consideration: - UI design (how it affects the overall user experience)

- User experience (psychology effects)


I will briefly explain my process of how I went about creating my website. Alpha product vs beta product


Before:





After:

The reason behind using different colours for the header, footer and blog strip is to make the page stand out and memorable. This is the psychological effect called


I have created a survey for my game design prototype website: Website link: https://cade-mason.wixsite.com/tower-of-hell-game


Survey results from testers feedback

I made a blog for testers' feedback to meet client needs. To keep it short, I asked for user feedback after they tested the website. I took the comments into consideration and made improvements where it felt necessary and to meet client user needs. https://cade-mason.wixsite.com/website-1/post/survey-feedback-from-user-interface-and-experience


Having made changes to the website based on testers comments here is the after version of the website's home page:


Blog page before (1st image) and after (2nd image):

Features page before (1st image) and after (2nd image):

"About the game" page before (1st image) and after (2nd image):

More information page before (1st image) and after (2nd image):

Contact page before (1st image) and after (2nd image):


Overall, I am fine with how the website has turned out. Given time constraints, there isn't anything else I can do with the website. In the future, I could see myself going back to this website and making more adjustments depending on user feedback of the UI design presentation. This has taken me 5-6 weeks to create this website all the way from the wireframe (draft) process to the website design process.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Unit 35 - Creating a website for the game prototype

Unit 35 - Principles of UX and UI Design is the last unit I am working on for my higher national certificate on the first year. Introduction - in this unit, I am to create a website dedicated to my ga

Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page