top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Simple face rig animation in After Effects exercise

In after-effects and part of the brief for research and development, I created a simple face rig animation. I followed this YouTube video for face rigging:

In the video, I downloaded a project file from the video description and then opened it up in after effects. Essentially this is a 2D face rig rather than 3D. I've had minimal experience with face rigging before but had only done face rigging in 3D by using Autodesk Maya.


With the downloaded file in After Effects, I found my characters: "Tina the Triangle" and "Ciecel the Circle". I got Essential Graphics by doing Window > Essential Graphics. Essential Graphics is needed for rigging in 2D, I used this to get the mouth group and eyes for the characters. I would adjust the sliders by changing the character animations. I created a composition called "Rig Example". In the new composition I did new > Null Object to create objects for 3 things "Eye CTRL", "Mouth CTRL" and "Reference Point".



Whilst making the facial rig I was lost in the process of making it and my project was acting up on one of the eyes. I never got around to fixing it. Instead, we were provided with a pre-done rigged facial animation in which we could use the sliders to change the eyes, mouth, and arms. This facial rig can be used for children friendly animations.

5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page