top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Marketing methods and monetization in video games

For a video game - marketing and monetization are vital in game development. If you need to earn money for your game, monetization and financial methods are the way to go.


How I would approach marketing with my video game. As my game is an endless runner game for mobile and PC, I'd need my game to be freemium business model with mobile game ads to gain revenue and profits for the game itself. More ads = more money. Alternatively, in game cosmetics resulting into profits once a consumer has obtained their cosmetics for the game.


As for financing methods my chosen approach Donation based crowdfunding. The reason I chose this is that places like Kickstarter, Patreon and GoFundMe are perfect for indie game developers and seeing as I am creating my own game, this is ideal. I can also avoid risks of losing capital (cash), taxes and interests. The downside to this however is that I might not be able to received the funds before the deadline period.


The idea should be something unique, fresh, original rather than boring, unoriginal or bland. And whilst my idea isn't anything new I wouldn't see myself creating a kickstarter for my proposed game. Methods I want to avoid using are family funds. The reason for this is that I dont want my project to flop and I'd be disappointing not only myself but my family as well. It's like going to a bank, getting a loan and then failing to meet interest rates of payment only for then to result yourself in going bankrupt.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Unit 44 Advanced Game Development Studies introduction

On the first day, I arrived back at Nescot college, I got assigned to "Unit 44 Advanced Game Development Studies" Originally, the game is about creating a working indie game as a class (3 people). How

Unit 44 - Market Research Report

- Provide statistics, charts, graphs of markets - Show essential techniques that work well for the market - Identify my audience - Mark the following criterias: ● Clearly identifies the market for yo

Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page