top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Marketing Fundamentals - Game Idea Brainstorms and X-Statements

Updated: Jan 21, 2022

X-Statements are a way to know the following when marketing a game: Know what you are making Know who you are making it for Making the game marketable towards the audiences To properly market your game, every game or product needs an X-Statement. Ideally one line that describes your game. Pillars are a perfect way to convey the true elements. Pillar 1: True element of the game. Pillar 2: Another true element of the game. Pillar 3: I swear down this is true too. You don't need to have every pillar to describe however having a few pillars help describe the game you are making. Using familiars + different method is a useful method to convey and convince people to make your project go greenlight.


Video game idea brainstorm: After watching a video about Marketing Fundamentals part 1 - X-Statements, Me, Chase and Jess had a discussion about video game ideas. We all had our own individual whiteboard markers. I had red, Chase had black and Jess had Blue. The one thing we needed to keep in mind was to abide by the following rule: Keep it: SIMPLE, EASY and ACHIEVEABLE. We discussed about our game ideas. One of the ideas that came to my mind was my idea: "A puzzle game based on real life paintings from musuems and galleries" This idea came about when I had the trip to the National Gallery in London." Other ideas that sprang to mind was a "simple animated platformer" this was Jess' idea. We didnt go into much on the discussion but I though linking my idea and Jess' idea. Which is where the "Sliding puzzle platformer" idea came to mind. The next thing we moved onto were game inspirations. This came into discussion to discuss about our favourite "Puzzle" and/or "Platformer" games. I did a little bit of research and I realised that I had played FEZ in the part. FEZ is a unique and interesting game where it combines the "Puzzle" and "Platformer" genre. The graphics are simple with good attention to detail but its the art direction for its graphics that take the cake. I would go onto talk about FEZ some more but that's for another day. I found LIMBO as a research result and Chase had played LIMBO. LIMBO is a platformer, puzzle and adventure game which is why I brought this up in the first place. Then after Chase discussed about LIMBO, I brought up Nubla which is a game I played a couple months back. Nubla is a puzzle and platformer game where you play as a boy who is adventuring around the musuem. As a player you go into these stages but the boy stays there but the spirit kids are in the stages to get to the next level (aka paintings). My teacher Leigh brought up the "Crystal Maze" game where there are 5 thematically stages and then there is the final level. We identified our audience that being casual gamers which is aligned to our briefs. The whiteboard:


Overall there were good ideas that sprang out of discussion. We are sticking to a puzzle and platformer game.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Unit 44 Advanced Game Development Studies introduction

On the first day, I arrived back at Nescot college, I got assigned to "Unit 44 Advanced Game Development Studies" Originally, the game is about creating a working indie game as a class (3 people). How

Marketing methods and monetization in video games

For a video game - marketing and monetization are vital in game development. If you need to earn money for your game, monetization and financial methods are the way to go. How I would approach marketi

Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page