top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Facial Rig Animation - South Park character with mouth movements, lip syncing and quoting.

For our task, I had to create a South Park original character which uses mouth movement and lip syncing. The first step was to create my South Park original character. Here is my original character:

I downloaded my character and then went onto Adobe Photoshop. With Adobe Photoshop I grabbed my phonemes with mouth images: Phonemes are words that convey through mouth movements.

I kept two different images separately in the comp but grabbed the mouth portions of the phonemes and blend it with the original character. I rubbed out the mouth of my OC (Original character) and replaced it with the phoneme mouths.

Once I was satisfied with the phonemes I went into After Effects. During the process I followed a video for lip syncing and mouth movements by creating key frames. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UWtw9SUZdvo

I had realized that I had to use Adobe Photoshop for the process (which is what I did before.)


Inside of After Effects and following through the tutorial, I created a composition and then "Mouth CTRL" for my mouth and to control the sliders inside the composition itself. I imported my photoshop file and brought it into After Effects. I used only one frame for each layer from the mouth itself. The mouth had 9 different phonemes therefore I had 9 frames to work with.


After creating the control sliders, code (expression on time remaps), I exported my file by using the "adobe media encoder" rather than "export as premiere pro" the reason for this is that whenever I opened up my import in premiere pro it would separate everything and there would be no comp whatsoever. Therefore, I went with media encoder and imported my exported comp in premiere pro.

After using Premiere Pro I exported my audio as an MP3 extension then opened the MP3 file in Adobe Audition and with Adobe Audition I change the semi tones to 5 from pitch effect and final pitch effect.

Then exported the audio and imported into premiere pro, deleted the original audio and brought my imported audio into the composition. Once done I exported the video as an MP4 file (H.264)

And here is my animation!

35 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page