top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Blueprints and exercise: 2. Basic Blueprint Programming Concepts

In this blueprint series, I will be going over the process on exercise 2. Let's begin. For exercise 1 I created a new blueprint class (via the content browser) and chose "Actor" for parent class. I renamed the blueprint as "BP_Variables" and opened up the blueprint. In the My Blueprint panel, I added a new variable. With the variable created, I changed the name to "BooleanVar" and Variable Type to "Boolean" and checked the Instance Editable property. I created 3 variables those being: Integer, Float and Text and named them as "Float Text or IntergerVar" of course the variable names had different names for variables. I created another Integer variable named "ArrayInteger" and set Variable Type to "Integer". I changed the variable type to "Array" and checked the Instance Editable. From there, I compiled the blueprint. Inside the Level Editor and drag and dropped the Blueprint into the level. I selected the instance of the Blueprint and editted the values of Variables in the level editor.

In Exercise 2, from the content browser I added a new blueprint class, the parent class is "Actor" and named the blueprint as as "BP_Attack". I opened the blueprint file. In Blueprint Editor. I created an integer variable named "Strength"and checked the Instance Editable. In the details panel (via Variable category), I set the value range property from "1" to "10. The default value category is set to 5. Inside the My Blueprint panel, I added a new Function and named the function as "Calculate Attack".

For the details panel I create an input parameter for Calculate Attack for Integer type and an output parameter named "Attack Value" of Integer type. Here is the following expression from the Calculate Attack value: Attack Value = (Strength x 5) + 10 I double clicked that function, editted it and created an expression (from figure 1's image in the PDF file).


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Unit 44 Advanced Game Development Studies introduction

On the first day, I arrived back at Nescot college, I got assigned to "Unit 44 Advanced Game Development Studies" Originally, the game is about creating a working indie game as a class (3 people). How

Marketing methods and monetization in video games

For a video game - marketing and monetization are vital in game development. If you need to earn money for your game, monetization and financial methods are the way to go. How I would approach marketi

Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page