top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Unit 88 - Advanced Editing for Board Game Commercial - Editing process and self evaluation

As part of my editing process in post production, I created my edit through Adobe Premiere Pro, Adobe After Effects and Adobe Audition. In Premiere Pro I got all the clips, audio, sound effects (materials) I wanted to edit the video. As part of the process I created a new composition for my TV edit for all the materials used. When editing the sequence timeline I used chase and jess' storyboard as referencing as to how Zombie Cribbage plays out and this is their storyboard:

With the storyboard in place I made sure to be faithful and consistent with the storyboard order when moving media around in the timeline sequence in premiere pro.

I changed the audio gain D.B (aka Decibels) to minus -10 to -20s in order for the audio to not go over -12 as this would exceed the standards for video editing. I made my voice deeper through audition to make it feel it intimidating and to make people feel creeped out. The horror track I used was to match the atmosphere for the video. Which you'll hear in the video.

Originally I didn't have any audio recorded nor was there any audio clips to use for the commentary so I ended up creating a script and using my Blue Yeti microphone at home and record the script I had my as a word document. I went back and forth with my edit into after effects from premiere pro to follow the video editing process workshop I had done in after effects: https://cade-mason.wixsite.com/website-1/post/after-effects-workshop-creating-a-vhs-footage


In After Effects, I read my own blog based on what I needed to do in order to create a VHS footage. I chose a green video grain to match the background video and thought it looked good enough to match the VHS like footage. I created 3 adjustment layers and added a "subtle" video (which I downloaded from YouTube) onto my After Effects. The subtle video gives a nice video effect for the board game trailer. When I asked Leigh to preview my video, he thought it was good and ideal as to how the video should be. The one thing that needed to be changed was the bar should go across horizontally downward rather than vertically from the right to the left. I did this by changing the "wave warps" direction from 90 degrees to 180 degrees. And the bar goes horizontally which is perfect. Here is my first edit of the board game commercial:

After getting feedback for my first edit from Leigh. We both said that the blurriness (aka wave warp) for the text makes it unreadable to the viewers, therefore, I went back into after effects and deleted the "wave warp" effect. I got feedback from Chase and this is what he had to say: Pros and Cons for my board game edit.


"Pros:

Good use of sound effects/design (key highlight). Visual effects were on point. Visuals to match with the 80s, Grindhouse in particular. Spooky and anxiety inducing.


Cons:

Commentary was difficult to understand at times which resulted in the trailer having a difficult to understand narrative" Then got feedback from Aaron saying this: "It's good but it could be shorter." Reflecting back on this, I do think that the duration could last for 30-60 seconds but I may face trouble editing my sequence. On another note, when I was watching the video I honestly thought my voice was a bit too deep than intended. My atmosphere for the board game is creepy and anxious. I wanted it this way as it fits the overall theme with the game and the zombies in the shots. I didnt want it to be too cheesy but enough for it to find the audience that being: teens to adults. If I were to create another board game commercial I'd cut down the time to 30-60 seconds. If were to create a distorted or deep voice (via audition or audacity), I will make sure that the voice itself is clear. Overall, I remained productive throughout pre-production and post production. despite the awful start on post production (lack of film footage and studio use) I was able to turn it around by using my friends footage and creating my own edit. What I find ironic is that out of all the groups, we did the most pre-production work and we were ready to film our footage only to get screwed over in the production process. What really mattered is that I was able to do a 180 on this assignment for the post production stage and I am pleased with how my edit turned out. And here is the video! Enjoy!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page