top of page
  • Cade-Mason

After Effects workshop: Creating a VHS Footage

Updated: Jan 21, 2022

In preparation of creating our own VHS like footage for our own board game commercial, Leigh needed us to get up to speed using Adobe After Effects. I downloaded a video from Motion Array Opening After Effects I changed the video resolution settings and scaled up the video from 100% to 150%.

1) RMB in Composition timeline -> new Create Adjustment Layer (Name ADJ01) I added a new adjustment layer after the video to overlap the effect. From there I added the lumetri color under "Effect > Color Correction > Lumetri Color"

Lumetri Color (To degrade / fade our HD footage) In Creative section

-> Increase Faded Film (+50), decrease sharpening (-50)

-> Curves (Clip Whites and Blacks / add keys to keep gradient the same shape and lower dynamic range)


After Lumetri Color, I added channel blur twice by going to "effect > blur and sharpen > channel blur. One of which is Red (32) and vertical and the other is Blue and horizontal both of which need repeat edge pixel.

3) ADD -> Channel Blur (to shift / split colour channels)

-> Set RED to 32, Set Dimension to Vertical, enable Repeat edge pixel

4) ADD -> Channel Blur(to shift / split colour channels)

-> Set BLUE to 32, Set Dimension to Horizontal, enable Repeat edge pixel After adding Channel Blurs, I added Wave Warp under "effect > distort > wave warp." For the wave warping, I setted the following:

Wave type: Squad

Wave width: 1000

Wave direction: 0

Wave speed: 0.2

Pinning: ALL EDGES

5) ADD -> Wave Warp (to add tracking lines / banding across image)

-> Set wave type to SQUARE

-> Set wave width to 1000

-> Set wave direction to 0

-> Set wave speed from 0.1 to 0.2

-> Set Pinning to ALL EDGES

Once Wave Warp was added, I added Noise. "Effect > Noise and Grain > Noise." I set the amount to 10%.

6) ADD -> Noise (to further degrade footage)

-> Set amount to 10% and adjust accordingly


Once Noise was added, I added a mosiac effect under "Effect > Stylize > Mosiac". I set the width to 1000 and height to 500 but I adjusted those settings instead to width 850 and height 500


7) ADD -> Mosaic (to pixelate footage indicative of inferior camera recording resolution)

-> Set Width to 1000

-> Set Height to 500

-> Adjust accordingly to gain the desired resolution look


I added an Unsharp Mask by "Effect > Blur and Sharpen > Unsharp Mask". I set the amount to 100 and radius to 25. This is to crunch the footage in order to make it look compressed.


8) ADD -> Unsharp Mask (to 'crunch' the footage making it looked compressed)

-> Set Amount to 100

-> Set Radius to 25


In the composition, I added a new Adjustment Layer. For the new Adjustment Layer I added another "wave warp" effect and set it to the following settings:

-> wave type: NOISE

-> wave height to 10

-> wave width to 20

-> wave direction to 0

-> Pinning to ALL EDGE Once settings were adjusted I splitted the track every 2 seconds to have a consistent wave warp going on and off for the viewer. I did CTRL + SHIFT + D to split the track up.

9) RMB in Composition timeline -> new Create Adjustment Layer (Name ADJ02)


10) ADD -> Wave Warp (to add further tracking issues)


-> Set wave type to NOISE

-> Set wave height to 10

-> Set wave width to 20

-> Set wave direction to 0

-> Set Pinning to ALL EDGE

-> REMOVE sections by placing the Current Time Indicator (Playhead) in desired locations and pressing:

CTRL + SHIFT + D to split the track up; delete sections so that the layer(s) alternate between ON and OFF

Once I finished my second adjustment layer I created a third adjustment layer. For this Adjustment Layer, I was to change the screen aspect ratio to match the old TV settings (4:3).

11) RMB in Composition timeline -> new Create Adjustment Layer (Name ADJ03)


12) ADD -> Motion tile (to 4:3 crop our footage)


-> Set Output width to 75


I downloaded the Subtle02.mp4 video of the classroom (Which is where I got the Woman in the beach video from.). I played around with the blending modes to see what I felt fitted the best. I went with Color Dodge. I used the blending modes under "Layer > Blending Mode > Color Dodge".

13) DRAG in Subtle02.mp4 under the adjustment layers as the top footage

-> Set BLENDING MODE to Colour Dodge, Screen or Add. See what you prefer.


14) To save as a PRESET for future use

-> Select all effects, RMB click and SAVE AS PRESET. Name Accordingly (Premiere Pro)

Overall the workshop was great and it gives good insight on how to create a VHS footage effect in After Effects. This will be needed from us when creating our board game commercial in a 80s/90s form.

8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page