top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Unit 43 Advanced VFX Practices- Sculpting a 3D asset.

Updated: Jan 21, 2022

Starting on Sam's unit - Advanced VFX. Before I get into the sculpting part I will provide context: We were shown a clip of a greenhouse and we had a group conversation in regards to how the shot is played out, what issues that could occur, where is the light source coming from, using track markers to use tracking, the VFX pipeline process etc. I will record my own footage of the greenhouse and taking multiple pictures to create a panorama shot of where I filmed the footage itself. That way I will know the focal lengths and other camera specs that I used when filming the footage into the VFX shot. Let's get on with the sculpting process: To start things off I used a sculpting software called Sculptris. There is a plenty of trial and error involved in the process of making my asset. My asset is a piranha plant type of plant. I took a lot of inspiration using the Piranha Plant from the Mario franchise (Video games) but tried to add a twist of my own to it making it realistic and changing proportions of the Piranha Plant itself. After changing the Wacom Tablet properties, I got my reference image to remain visible at all times using the 'stay on top' function. Using the draw function you can add more sculpt or remove parts of the sculpt on the sphere itself. I did this by right clicking to remove and left click to add sculpting. The 'flatten' function is used to flatten the sculpt's geometry.


At the back of the sphere I added a root by using the 'inflate' function. I did some pinching to add teeth. I also found the proportions of the lip and teeth to be off so this was where trial and error were picking up. Having used the inflates and draw function all the way down the root I noticed at the bottom of the root area the sculpting looks a lot smooth and clay like rather than an actual plant. I decided to restart my sculpting as I could only use a certain amount of undos (probably like 20 times at a step)

I added a new sphere for the geometry and restarted the process. I had made multiple versions of the plant to figure out what went well and what didnt go so well. I saw this lesson as more of a workshop session than anything else. Whilst sculpting one of the two spheres, I was taking away the sculpting from the inside to create the interior of the mouth itself. Furthermore, a tongue was needed for the piranha plant to add some attention to detail and then the teeth would come after.


Overall, the sculpting workshop was useful and knowing how to sculpt models. For me I am still grasping on how to sculpt models and this is the second or third time I have sculpted a model in the past.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page