top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Unit 19 - Task 3 - Boxing Rotoscope

Updated: May 21, 2021

For this task, we had to rotoscope frames. We were giving certain frames to Rotoscope for the boxing video. in my case, I rotoscoped frames 41-50. I downloaded the boxing exr file from Google Classroom.

I opened up NukeX and from there I read the exr files for the boxing video. Afterwards, I added in a 'framerange' node. The frame range is 41-50. I also added nodes such as 'roto' 'colour correct 'premult'. In the 'roto' node I produced BSplines to create the bone structure and proportions of the body itself. Speaking of the BSplines I grouped up the folders themselves into respective body parts.

For the color correct node, I adjusted the brightness of the colours to make it easy to tell what's part of the body and what isn't. What I mean by this, is that some parts of the body were hard to tell due to the brightness, for example, if a piece of fabric is stretching out at the backside it might be harder to tell as the fencing has crosses that go diagonally and its colours are about the same as well.


If you wanted to be a comp artist or roto artist, you need to need to be critical, having attention to detail and have judgement for the composition itself. Being critical for the composition is key here.


Here are some more images of the process of me drawing BSplines on the roto node. I was also colour-coding the splines in. Once I grouped up each part of the BSplines, I made edits on the keyframes from points of the BSplines themselves. Furthermore, I added more BSplines onto the cloth of the torso itself.


Once I grouped up all the BSplines I needed for the rotoscope, I downloaded a Roto Quality Check script file from Google Classroom. I added the roto quality check in nuke alongside my rotoscope script. The reason why I had to download a quality checker is to assure the rotoscope's quality. Once that script was added, I was given instructions on which nodes go where.

Roto Quality Check script. (Work in progress)

I added more bsplines to the my roto scope such as 'cloth'.


After exporting the video as .exr and .mov, I submitted my rotoscope onto google classroom.


Here is the boxing rotoscope video I produced:


I edited the video altogether using premiere pro.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page