top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Task 03 Research, review and revision of the process Questions about myself and a future career

Updated: Feb 11, 2021

Right before I leave college next year my main plan is to get an apprenticeship in the games or visual effects industry. There are plenty of questions I ask myself about joining the 2 entertainment industry giants. If things don't work out, I plan on taking a gap year after college and work on new projects, improve my portfolio and seek for game or VFX industry jobs.

I will go over my strengths, indifferences and weaknesses about myself.


The purpose of this blog is a self-analysis of myself, what I want to do in the future, how I will I get there, knowing my strengths and improving my weaknesses. How do I get there?

First things first, I need to assess myself based on where I want to go. Preferably, I want to join the games industry over visual effects. That said, I'm not particularly fussed on where I go if I get an apprenticeship. It just means more opportunities for apprenticeships. Furthermore, the questions I answer to myself will show (in detail) in this blog.


What skills, techniques would I need to go for a particular job role?

My desired job roles in the games industry would have to be: - Level designer

A level designer is an entry-level job. A level designer is a job I've been interested in and eager about the job. In the past, I had played games that had the level designing aspect. Those games being: Super Mario Maker 1 and 2, Little Big Planet Franchise and Dreams.

What skills do I need to work on to become a level designer?

I had worked on a level design with one of my friends in the game prototype for work experience. Having said this I have minimal experience creating levels in games. Starting off with how the level design will look is a good start then you would go on ahead to create that level in-game engine software.


Can I achieve getting the level designer job?

I'm not sure about this but if I started to work more on designing game levels for the next 2-3 years, I could get the job. Who knows.

- Game modeller

The game modeller is an entry-level job. Game modellers create 3D assets of the model, those models would then go onto be UV'd, textured, and implemented into the game engine. If you were to develop a character in a 3D engine make sure to have concept art or any kind of reference to build the character upon. The process is to create meshes > UV wireframes > rig > skinning > animate. From there, the provide the assets to other roles. If they're passing on 3D assets to animators, they'll provide assets that have been rigged or non-rigged models.


What skills do I need to work on to become a game modeller? As for someone who's been modelling in Autodesk Maya, I need to work on rigging models, solving errors in the meshes, work on my UV planning.


Can I achieve getting a game modeller job?

I've had fun modelling 3D assets in my past 2-3 years producing them. I have a portfolio of them. I think the chances of getting that job role is easier compared to the others as I have experience and knowledge working with modelling assets for games.

- Concept artist

A concept artist is responsible for creating the concept pieces of environments, characters, weapons etc. They design and present them in the style that it needs to be in. The sketches and drawings they create are provided to other job roles such as modellers and environment artists.


What skills do I need to work on to become a concept artist?

Personally speaking, I need to work on perspectives, rule of thirds, proportions of characters and area, lighting etc. Preventing myself from rushing concept art.


Can I achieve getting the concept artist job?

After I leave college? I'm not too sure but I could try and start working on concept arts of original characters or environments eventually.


- Game tester

Game testing is a job role I've been eager since the start of NextGen. Game testers find errors, game-breaking bugs and glitches and know the quality assurance of the game itself. They are required to think outside of the box meaning that you'll have to think of any combination of outcomes based on what the player has done.


What skills do I need to work on to become a game tester?

First of all, I need to think more outside the box. Find out what the issues are and try to solve those problems. Think of any possibility and try it in the game itself.

Secondly, write feedback and take notes on how the game operates. Are there any errors? Is the game's optimisation good? How is the quality of the game - what improvements are needed? How can they fix their game? Can I achieve getting a game tester job? Hopefully so. Not whilst I'm in education as of this moment because my course is specified about VFX and game testing is irrelevant to VFX. What I'm considering of in the future is I will find work experiences for game testing. If I do well and get a reference from others, I want to apply for game testing jobs.


As for VFX industry job roles:

- Environment artist

An environment artist is an entry-level job. They are responsible for producing the CG places in which the real actors can move around in. They the environments either by using a modelling or sculpting software. They work from a brief that's brought to them often in the form of 2D, or occasionally 3D digital art. An alternative is that they work from reference materials such as photographs or line drawing sketches


Afterwards, they create the model (aka wireframes) for the models. From there they add details into the models themselves. Sculpting is a great method when creating the models themselves. If the environments are meant to be done in a photorealistic standard, the models would need ridiculous amounts of details and wireframes from the polygons.


What skills do I need to work on to become an environment artist?

Practice sculpting models more in Autodesk Mudbox. Work on my sculpting skills and create a high poly model of a mountain or any kind of environment model.


Can I achieve getting an environment artist job?

Right after I'm finished with college? Maybe, who knows. Perhaps in 2 years time, I'll be able to sculpt models nice and consistently.


- Modelling artist

Modelling artist is an entry-level job. Modelling artists produce, paint and texture models. From creatures to ships to characters, there is a variation of 3D assets they design. Before they get into creating the asset they need concept art of what the design should look like, what the artists are trying to envision and present. They also work in the early stages of CG and 3D from the pipeline. The tools a modelling artist used is digital sculpting, modelling and texture software and use a graphics pen and tablet. In professional VFX companies Modelling artists are present however this might not be the case when working in small VFX companies as they might not be able to distinguish the roles at hand.


What skills do I need to work on to become a modelling artist? As for someone who's been modelling in Autodesk Maya, I need to work on rigging models, solving errors in the meshes, work on my UV planning. If I started texturing more and implementing the right maps on models I reckon my chances would be higher by getting the job itself.


Can I achieve getting a modelling artist job?

I've had fun modelling 3D assets in my past 2-3 years producing them. I have a portfolio of them. I think the chances of getting that job role is easier compared to the others as I have experience and knowledge working with modelling assets for games.


- Runner

As an entry-level job, Runner is a job role that requires taking an interest in VFX and being enthusiastic, proactive, reliable for the Runners role. Having said this, one of the challenges the runner faces is the adaptability. A runner should prioritise jobs and cope well under the pressure with the work environment they are in. Furthermore, runners may have to work late or irregular hours in their job. Mainly to meet the work deadlines on a project that is a work in progress. Runners carry out tasks from staff in all different departments of VFX. The reason why this is an 'entry-level' job is that runners will be experiencing all sorts of things in the company. They will try out different jobs that each job role has to offer. It's about finding which job role is best suited for you and what your preferences are.


The reason why the majority of job roles I've chosen are all entry-level so that I can aim for the entry-level roles and work my way through the industry. I'd rather be on a good entry starting point than having a non-entry-level role. To me, it's like going through the ranks in an army and working your way up. I don't know if I'd be able to handle the responsibilities of being a director or supervisor though. I'll have to see how my skills develop. The other reason why I've decided to aim for entry-level roles is that I want to experience how the industries work.


What skills do I need to improve upon?

If I want to go for the artistic route, I will need to improve upon my art skills. I love art. In fact, I cared and appreciated art when I was in year 10. Before that, I was apathetic and didn't appreciate and barely had a passion for art until I got to year 10


During the pandemic however and more recently, I have been trying to do some (more) art in favour of improving and building upon my art skills. I started off doing a manga-like art style because anime and manga is one of my main hobbies and interests. Alternatively, the game or dark gritty art styles is also to my liking.


As for other skills I need to work on working smart over working hard. For me, its quite the learning curve and a difficult process but I will need to get used to this process and think outside a box at times. In one scenario I may have to use another software to get something functioning or find another solution prior to the problem that I am facing.


How do I go about getting into the games or VFX industry?


First of all, I have an app called LinkedIn. LinkedIn was recommended by my teachers in college. LinkedIn is a social media app where you can talk and interact with industry professionals and businesses. If I can't get a paid job first I can ask to see if they are doing any work experiences or see if there are any events where I can volunteer myself to bring my skills and techniques forward. Game jams are meant to be a great way to show off your skills and techniques forward them to industry professionals. That way, you have a chance of getting hired into the industry.


Secondly, if things don't work out getting an apprenticeship in the games or VFX industry, I am considering of taking a gap year and work on improving my work portfolio and come up with 1 or 2 passion projects that I can present on a showreel and/or portfolio. Having said this I will be job seeking for particular roles in those industries. If worse comes to worst then I may have to go for a different job role instead. Preferably an entry-level job.


What are my main intentions or desires getting into these particular industries?


My main intention is to join the desired industries I want to go into. As I can't stand doing vocational work. Vocational, factory work is a no go for me. I currently have a part-time job in retail and have been working in retail for 4-5 years now. Furthermore, games and visual effects are my passion.


Going off track here but whilst I still have my part-time job, I have intentions of leaving my part-time job once I've gained a position in the creative industries. Having said this, I will need to settle into the industry.


How do I go about getting the jobs I desire for?

To plan this out I will need to research the companies first. What works have they done on particular titles? Where is the company based? What job roles is the company hiring? Are the skills I have viable, useful and competent enough for me to belong in the company? Researching the company helps you give knowledge and insight into the company itself.


What are the minimum requirements when going for a job?

Ideally one needs to have a CV, appropriate skills, research into the company you're wanting to work for, good enthusiasm, body language and eagerness and a standout work portfolio. Questions are optional though it shows that you are keen to work.


My work portfolio is revolved around Wix. I have a personal worksite that was previously for a college course here is the link: https://cade-mason.wixsite.com/cadespw-website


As for the CV I still need to update mine. I created a CV of about 5-6 years ago and haven't touched my CV since my part-time job which I got 4 years ago.


What will I do after joining the games or VFX industry? For the first (couple of) years whilst I am in the industry. I would like to gain basic knowledge and the ins and outs of the creative media industries. How they work, how a company handles the production stages and work pipelines in the respective companies. I am interested and curious to see how they handle pipelines and production stages. I will need money to maintain income and balance. For an independent living, I am considering moving out of my home town. Having said this, I want to move out to a games or VFX company where I am able to get a job or guarantee that job (if I'm lucky.). Having said that I do have an idea about job seeking. In the future, I've been considering asking Reef Entertainment about hiring new people. If things don't work out, I will job seek for any of the professional game or VFX companies or I can ask to see if they asking volunteers for work experience.


These are my work experiences so far: Game testing @ Reef Entertainment - January 2018

Game prototype from Dan @ Real Media Now - February 2020

'Games for Carers' campaign online forum help - associated by Ukie - May 2020


The next step to this is to evolve my career. By the first time I have my job and settle in for a few years, do a couple of projects with that company. I may move on or stick with them. If I stick with them I will continue working with the company and sought the opportunity to aim for a more prominent role. The decision remains indecisive (for now).


I need to find the definitive job role that's best suited for me. When talking to one of my teachers last year around this time (January 2020), I mentioned "I need to find a job role that's best suited for me. I need to find out what purpose I serve." This will take time, I have to find a job role that's best suited for me and what I'm comfortable with. Whilst I am interested in the artistic and creative side of things I need to work on my skills. Especially with my art skills as I feel they are lacking.


Discussing strengths, indifference and weaknesses:

Strengths: - Time management

- Reliability

- Hard-working ethic

- Eager to work

- Planning

- Asking for help when I need to fix something


Indifferences: - Teamwork

- Problem solving

- Thinking outside of the box

Weaknesses:

- Adjusting to learning curves

- Getting used to new things

11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page