top of page
  • Cade-Mason

Piranha Plant VFX Scene - Texturing the asset and hypershade in Substance Painter

After getting UV maps were unwrapped and sorted. I exported all the UV maps and did "FBX export". Once exported I opened up Substance Painter I created a new project by using the following settings as seen on the image:

Once the project was created my asset loaded into the scene. Furthermore, I followed a tutorial video about texturing a piranha plant in Substance Painter (via Youtube) which is incredibly useful and helped me get through texturing my asset. The video:


I adjusted the settings on my UV maps before baking and then I baked the UV map textures by doing "Baking > Bake select textures".


Once my texture maps were baked, I started texturing my piranha plant. I played around with the settings, I used brushes, materials, strokes. I imported resources by adding the following materials: "dirt" and "new_leaf".

With the layers I had created, I added in certain elements to create a stylized texture. For example, my mouth needed: Shadowing, Dots, Color Correct Filter, Levels - Base Color and Fill. Whilst my piranha plant had red to it this would be for the inside and the red was expose for the mouth for the finalized version of the model. Then with the mouth layer I added a black mask. With the leaf, I used the "broken glass" brush which I used to brush on the leaves themselves.


I used it for the base which was an appropriate. Then with the dirt layer I added bits of dirt on the piranha plant and added a mask for it.


Once I finished my textures, I exported the textures. Before exporting I had to know what output templates I was exporting; namely the output maps. The maps needed were: BaseColor, Metalness, Roughness, Normal, Height and Emissive. Then in the global settings (via "settings") tab.


Back in Autodesk Maya, I exported my textures using the hypershade. First of all I went into "Windows > Settings/Preferences > Plug-In Manager" inside the plug in manager I needed to get the "substance" settings which is what I did. After that I did apply workflow to image maps, I grabbed the textures maps needed for my piranha plant. I had roughness, normal, base color and height maps.


Afterward I went into the Arnold render view settings and noticed that when rendered, the piranha plants textures were janky, off putting and the proportions messed up. So what I ended up doing was I went into the hypershade to fix this issue.


What I had to do was I went into the greenhouse geometry scene and brought my piranha plant asset. Then I went into the hypershade menu created the following components: base color, height, metallic, normal and roughness. With these components in the hypershade I had to hook the components into the appropriate places. Once that was done, all the texture maps were set onto my Piranha Plant asset (which is the AiStandardSurface2 material used from the asset).


However, at the time I was adding in my texture maps in the hypershade they werent going through. Therefore, I went back into Substance Painter and did "file > export mesh"


After setting up the hypershade, textures were put into place for the piranha plant model.


My next step is to render out my scene in Maya.




















11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

07813 596621

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Cade's Creative HND Portfolio. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page