top of page
  • Writer's pictureCade.M

Witch Texturing

Updated: Sep 6, 2019

In Luca design time lessons, we were tasked onto Witch texturing. Firstly, Luca requested us homework; the homework itself was to create a mind map (in powerpoint format) for materials and design for a witch. I produced it over the weekend. Here's a screenshot of my mind map: As the next lesson of design time commenced, I told Luca I produced my mind map and I showed him the mind map. Unfortunately for the life of me, I don't recall Luca saying anything about my mind map.


With that out of the way, Luca demonstrated us the witch texturing via Autodesk Maya. He showed us UV texturing, photoshop brush tools and translating the texture to UV in autodesk Maya. We painted the polygons on the witch texture in order to capture a more detailed and realistic feel for the witch. UV shell captures this to cut out the chuncks and place them into pieces to capture the texturing. So in a way, it unwraps the texturing of a shell and puts it into smaller pieces. I guess you could say it's to enhance resolution.

In the process, I tried to upload my texture to weblearn. Unfortunately, I couldn't upload it because Weblearn prevented me from doing so. However, Luca told me he had a default texture/color map for the witch so I worked on his default texture. Here is the color map of the witch texture I had to work on:

My Version:



As I was producing the witch in Autodesk Maya I created a duplicate. One was grey and the other was color. Whilst editing the texture I adapted the edges, smooth and hardness of the brush. I wanted to maintain some kind realism and that's what the teacher wanted too so I've tried my best to meet those expectations.


The left model is the textured which I worked on, whereas the witch on the right was another texture in which I used the paint bucket or brush tool. Personally, the left is better due to the details, more realistic approach and it has the attention to detail. Unlike the witch on the right in which it has basic color and only a few uses of color. Meaning the variety is lessened compared to the left.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page