top of page
  • Writer's pictureCade.M

Normal Mapping 2

Updated: Sep 6, 2019

On the 12/02/19, Sam asked us to vote in a poll for normal mapping. The poll consisted of 2 questions. We had to provide with an honest opinion on normal mapping. Once the vote was finished, Sam demonstrated to us normal mapping on a presentation whilst being observed.


Sam demonstrated Normal mapping very well and from there, we played around with stamps on a container (via substance painter). I played around with the stamps for a while. Turned off alpha brushing, replaced uniform color with stamps.


In the lesson we use a pre made 3D model in Substance Painter. In substance painter (via the shelf section) there are a lot of pre-made normal maps ready to use and brush for the model.

As I was fiddling around with the stamping on the Container model (via Substance Painter), certain conditions had to be met. Such as the flow going up to a 100, Alpha brushing was off. Another thing I did to make the texturing easier and balanced was I turned on the wireframes. From there, I stamped a few more times, in fact, I created a smiley face just for the fun of it.


Afterwards, we then learned about producing a normal map from a modelled detail in Maya in which was going to be via Subtance Painter. First of all we had to check that the model was facing along Z Axis before going to front view, making the image square and going to arnold > arnold renderview and in the window change the transform settings RAW to see what the normal map looks like. Afterwards, I produced captures (screenshots) of the normal map that would be placed into photoshop where we inverted the green channel of the image (to make the normal map look like it is indented into the surface not extruding out). Once that was all done we imported the normal map onto Substace Painter.


Afterwards, I tried producing my own stamp however I was sort of stuck on how to go about it. I did some extruding and moving the faces of the the stamp although it didn't look right or felt appropriate to what I was thinking.


Overall, my knowledge has improved on normal mapping and the observation lesson was fun and interesting.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page