top of page
  • Writer's pictureCade.M

Maya: Producing a Lamp.

Updated: Sep 6, 2019

On 06/12/18, we produced a Lamp. Sam showed us the quickest and most efficient way to translate a 2D image to a model. He used EP curve and revovles to finish of the curve for design. I brought up a source image using view > image plane> source image. I got the Lamp from the internet.

Then I drew a line for the lamp. Somehow, I ended having 2 lines, each were separate.





I reversed circulation to turn the shape into grey from black.

Afterwards, I drew a line on the lamp head and did the same to what I did to the center body of the lamp.


Once that was out of the way, I produced a cable using EP curve tool.

Got a cylinder, scaled it down and turned onto 90 degrees.

My classmate, Louis helped me out with the wire. What I had to do was select the wire, then right click and select 'face', from there I had to extrude the wire and put the divisions to 25 to get the most accurate for the wire I produced. This is what Louis did so I figured I'd try it out myself. Here's some progress of the work:




After the cable, I produced a plug head and this was the progress of it:




Did an extrude on the base shape then scaled it. Afters I extruded the vertices on the base shape.


Extruded the face of the power cable to connect.

Then from there, I got my 3 pins and implemented them onto the plug head. Afterwards, I connected all the parts of the plug head together.



Once that was out of the way, I did this special duplication with my lamp. I did modify > convert > nurbs to polygons Type: Quads Count 200-500 however it depends on the asset of the shape.

This was the result: The more count, the sharper and cleaner the edges and faces.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page