top of page
  • Writer's pictureCade.M

Concept Art - Ancient Lost City

Updated: Sep 6, 2019

On 7/12/2018, Calvin gave us a task over the christmas period for an imaginary drawing. We had to draw either a Ancient Lost City or Living Forest. We had to use our drawing techniques from what we've taught over the 1st term of the next gen course. In the title, I chose Ancient Lost City. Mainly because I love architectual work and find it intriguing and fun to look at.

On our introduction lesson for the homework, we all produced a mind map of the concept art we were going to produce. Some chose Living Forest and other chose Ancient Lost City, Here's a mind map of what I produced:

During my free time and design time lessons, I have been producing my concept art. I've used rule of thirds, horizon lines, tonal grading, opacity, organizing layers to create my concept art. In fact, it's my ever concept art I've produced! I've been using my WACOM graphics tablet to produce my concept art. I went from GIMP to Photoshop whilst producing my concept art. Because of this, there was a small learning curve however, it wasn't an issue on my end personally. Although I would save my concept art file twice, one in PSD format and the other in either PNG or JPEG.

On the 14/1/19, there was a massive twist into my concept art. A new teacher, Fabiola gave some good advice by producing thumbnails for the concept art and evolve it from there. Because of this, my concept art changed drastically than I expect it to be. It evolved into a stronger and more expressive piece for what it was.

Then on the 16/1/19 I made some progress onto producing some of the concept art. The background cave were around to 3/4ths of the way through to finishing.

During the 21st and 23rd of January I developed my concept art further by colouring in the buidlings, giving the sun some detail, experimenting brush tools and styles and nearing finishing touches for the background of the cave for my concept art piece.

During that week, Luca has requested us to upload our concept art.

On the 28/1/19, I progressed even further with the concept making it about 3/4th's of the way to finishing the piece. I drew my statue, created some mist to create a sense of mystery, drew the black lines to strengthen the architecture and give the buildings clear edges.

On the 6/2/19, I produced the finishing touches of my concept art. Me and Luca went over the specifics and details of the concept art. What could be improved, how it is and what could be done about it. This was my concept art piece from before:

As we said this, we scrapped the old concpet art piece so we started again from scratch although this time around, it got very efficient and fast. Within 3 hours with some support and help from Luca, this is what I produced!

Those pink lines are supposed to meet the horizon lines and persceptives of the buildings itself. Having seen and compared my unfinished concepts art. I like the new one much better, it looks much prettier, outstanding and realistic!

On 11/02/19, I progressed further with the new concept art work. Personally, I feel I'm almost finished, considering I'm near my deadlines I don't want to over detail it and add too many things to the art piece.

I've uploaded my final concept art piece for weblearn, here's hoping I get some good feedback from it. Overall, I found the concept art to be a very challenging yet enjoyable task at the same time. With that being said, here's a capture of my final art piece:


12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page