top of page
  • Writer's pictureCade.M

Storyboard Choreography in Action : Yusuke vs (Younger) Toguro Fight - Yu Yu Hakusho

Updated: May 25, 2020

This blog will be an analysis of one of my favorite fights of all time. We've been tasked to create a storyboard and use our interpretations of the character's actions on what occurs in the choreography in the action scene of a fight. Approximately, we're supposed to do 20 seconds worth of storyboarding from the frames themselves. I am going over a fight scene from an anime series called: Yu Yu Hakusho.

The Yusuke vs Toguro fight. An incredibly enjoyable and entertaining fight to watch. Yu Yu Hakusho's animation (in my opinion) was ahead of its time. The Yusuke vs Toguro fight occurs in the Dark Tournament arc which in this phase, is the finals for Dark Tournament. Here I will go over my favorite 20-30 second segment part of the fight itself. Now the segment will only be focused onto 1 episode of the fight as the whole fight itself is into different segments that occur which splits into different episodes.


In the second frame image, Yusuke unleashes his spirit energy to get out of Toguro's overwhelming strength that pummeled him down. (Close up shot) In the following frame he does this with a shout and the spirit energy light emits.


Then in a long shot, we see that Yusuke jumps out and away from Toguro, In the following shot, there's a panning shot in which shows the 2 characters facing against each other. Moreover, the shot starts to zoom into Yusuke to retain focus on the intensity of the fight itself.


In a close-up shot, we see that Yusuke follows through with a punch (which is followed as a tracking shot) in an attempt to knock Toguro. After the shot, we go into a long shot where we see that Toguro was punched as the face and neck get knocked into the direction. This is essentially known as impact.


Then in a close-up, we see Yusuke's expression in an aggressive state. It seems in the last frame that his punch wasn't quite enough to knock down Toguro. Therefore, he tries to land another blow. Then in the following extreme close up shot, we see Toguro's eye focusing with intensity towards Yusuke. This shot would follow another shot with a slash/knock out. This comes from Toguro as Yusuke is knocked into a different direction. Which sends him flying in the next frame. Although that frame isn't a part of the segment.


So here is my storyboard in which I replicated and did my own interpretation of the shots, frames, and the action going on the scene.

Yu Yu Hakusho - Yusuke vs Toguro

If you want to check out the clip, the segment where I illustrated and added annotations on my storyboard starts at 12:47-13:13


Overall, I learned how to replicate and create my own interpretation of clips and segments of a storyboard. Furthermore, I now know what a segment is and what it means.


With tasks that contain passion, I tend to have a lot of fun going over with what I love and I get to express that passion and enthusiasm. Much like the Danganronpa game review blog.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page