top of page
  • Writer's pictureCade.M

Sounds Scapes for ISIW

Updated: May 25, 2020

On Thursday (21/11/2019), we were tasked to create sounds, find audio for our imagined world concepts by next Tuesday (26/11/2019).


My first attempt at picking up sounds with a zoom recorder was a mess due to the very low battery and the zoom recorder start-up process took a long time. I didn't get around to producing sounds on the weekend either as I was busy with work and I honestly forgot about producing and picking up sounds.


All of that aside I did come up with a checklist of sounds (non-diegetic and diegetic) to create, produce sounds, or find audio clips of sounds on the internet.


Then came Monday (25/11/2019). Only came to the realization I had no sounds produced or no audio created. So I took some time from the lesson itself and I went outside to collect and create sounds. I recorded around 10-20 sound clips which we're fine I adjusted the recording volume so it wouldn't hit -12. One other surrounding I had to wary of was other sounds surrounding the sound I was aiming for.


Once I captured all my sounds and audio I went onto Adobe Audition. Before I got into my project we're given a tutorial lesson based around Adobe Audition in which we would get to know the fundamentals, settings, and mechanics to use.


Waveform and Multi-track are separate channel entries. Multi-track (as it hints in the name) plays all tracks combined together to get the feel of combinations and how they are formed together as one into audio. A waveform is one single entity of a sound/audio clip. With Waveform, you can edit in the depth of the clip itself. Fades in and fade-outs, threshold, and reverb, etc. I did this with one of my audio clips before copy and paste the clip.


One problem I had with my tracks was that I was trying to remember each imitation of sound from the clips themselves. Some were easy and others were sort of hard to tell. I knew what I was going for regardless.


The sounds I added into my multi-tracks are:


Wind

Leaves swirling

Birds gawking

Birds tweeting

Flappy wings

Footsteps

Electric buzzing

Power failure


These sounds are the pieces that resemble and create the imagined world.


Something that had to be done was the song duration. On the bottom hand corner of the screen you have the 'selection/view' box.



On view, I changed the duration of the song from 29 seconds to 20 seconds.


I decided to go back to my artwork and review what sounds I needed turns out I needed 2-3 more sounds for comp. To make things easier I printed off my concept artwork and annotated the sounds I needed for each fragment of the concept artwork. Once annotated, I would try to find these sounds on copyright-free websites (via the internet).


Going back to my multi-track I implemented two new sounds (both we're downloaded from the internet.


It was pretty simple. turn the d.b down to the appropriate volumes of sound matching the distances of noise themselves. I did this with every sound clip to match the distances and volume that occur to create immersion and meeting the standards of the world itself.




That being said, I exported all my sounds by going to File > Export > Multitrack Mixdown > Selected Clips. The format I used to export we're wave files.


In the next part of the blog I will be going over my compositions for ISIW.





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page