top of page
  • Writer's pictureCade.M

ISIW: Composition

Updated: May 25, 2020

In this blog I will be going over my progress based on my Images Sounds for Imagined Worlds (ISIW) composition.


If you read/looked at my 2 previous blogs for my ISIW, I made concept art and soundscape. The next stage of this ISIW will be composition. So I opened up After Effect and grabbed my Photoshop file for concept art and then the wave files for my soundscape. Here I would create my composition. So I right-clicked > new composition.


With my composition these we're the settings:












Once that was done I was working with this.


Keep in mind I didn't screenshot many images for this process but you will be seeing a lot of puppet pin process.

So as I was working with this I had individual layers. Firstly, I dragged my character from the cliff to the bottom right corner of the composition. What I wanted to work with here is that my character would walk up to the cliff. Here I wanted to try and animate the character with a squash and stretch approach to creating a realistic movement for the character. Even if it looks cheesy or poor I wanted to experiment. Originally I did but it looked much worse than I thought. That being said, I experimented with other layers using the puppet pin tool and keyframing the layers at a certain time.


Puppet pin tool in effect can move around the layers and the pin is centered around the effect of a moving image that imitates animation. Some can look distorted or can move poorly if you don't have enough pins. I experienced this with my character and adding more pins can make it convoluted or very technical when animating it.


  • The puppet pins I animated the layers for we're:

  • Left building (cube)

  • Sun

  • Birds (which look like those little ticks or 'v's in the background area.) The blue energy on the right building

  • Force field

  • Character

The animations were active for approximately 5-6 seconds. Luca had a preview on my composition and requested if I could get my animation to remain active for the entire length of the video (lasting 20 seconds) rather than being a plain boring image once the animation cuts out. I needed the consistency to last throughout.


I did some changes to the composition to last the entire length of the video itself:

Birds now they will flap consistently as they would scale down in size and matches the perspective by heading down elsewhere in the world.


On the left-hand side of the image, the cube slightly rotates itself anti-clockwise.


On the right-hand side of the image, the blue ring would consistently move. I wanted to give the blue ring a sci-fi effect in which you see those moving force fields in sci-fi TV shows, movies, and video games.


The mist on the bottom left-hand side performs slight movements each passing second.


The city dome occupied with a forcefield moves each second too.


The ship would travel through the image until the very end of the left side of the image.


Then from 19-20 second mark, a fade-out would occur.


Initially, I was going to export it onto Adobe Media Encoder but instead had to export it to Premiere Pro instead.




Once that was done I remember occurring into exporting issues. Firstly, I exported my video into premiere pro and when I opened the video itself, the video and audio we're split, the duration of the video lasted for 29-30 seconds rather than 20 seconds maximum, and the animation itself wasn't included in the video itself.


To solve the problem I used my After Effects file I did export > add to Premiere Pro and from there I opened the file in Premiere Pro (Which the file itself was an AVI file). Once my Premiere Pro was open I did export > media. Here is the video quality I had to go for.

Don't worry it wasn't this pufferfish video. Internet meme at the moment... I just needed the preset and format.


With everything else out of the way, here is the video of the ISIW composition:



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page