top of page
  • Writer's pictureCade.M

Bouncing Ball Rig Animation

Updated: Sep 6, 2019

We're producing a 3D and 2D Ball Rig Animation. They introduced this to the class on 28/03/19 however, I missed out on that day because I was on a trip. So, I ended up asking my friends about the project. I had to retrieve the transcript file: 'Boucing Ball Rig' file in the animation skills section via weblearn.

I decided to produce the 2D Ball Animation first, seeing how I was expecting to be harder and longer to do. Well when I was producing the animation it ended up being easier and shorter than I thought it would. Thanks to the referencing.


Here are the references I implemented onto my 2D animation and inspired upon:





With all of that aside, I went onto Photoshop and created a new project. From there, I opened a timeline and created 2 layers. One for the background and one for one frame. I then converted the timeline to a frame animation timeline and produced 14 frames worth of animation. Keep in mind that the video itself however was 14 FPS. Progressing through the animation, Luca suggested me was to "enable onion skins" One frame before and one frame after. He suggested this because frame 7's shape from the transition to 8 and 9 seemed off. Now this was when I asked Luca to look at my ball animation. Bare with me here and I'll try my best to break it down. Before frame 7 there was frame 6. Each frame = 1 ball. Now as frame 7 was going to adapt into a similar shape for a later frame (which appeared to be frame 9) Frame 8 was the squashed ball that met collison onto the ground. Causing the gravity for the ball to bounce back up from frame 9 and onward. I personally liked it but I think I could make it last more frames to illustrate the neatness and accuracy of the ball. Naturally I could go with a realistic 2D ball animation.


After the situation was solved. Luca reviewed it again and it was good. Now when I was producing this it seemed better then I expected and was rather proud of it.


Anyways, here's the video for my 2D Ball Animation:


Hope you liked my ball animation. Beforehand, I was producing the 3D Animation but things didn't go as planned to finish it, In fact, the 3D Animation was the first ball animation I was in the middle of producing.


Well what you'll read next is what I did way before the 2D Bouncing ball animation: What I had to do was create a new file on Maya. Save it as 'Bouncing Ball Rig' and keep it as an Maya ASCII file. From there, I had to open the Maya file on Notepad. I had replaced all the script inside by copying and pasting from the transcript via weblearn. Then I saved it and went back onto Maya. From there, the file was successfully opened!

Somehow when I wanted to make more progress I was stuck on to get frames and keyframes. So what I did was I went to a catch up session on Wednesday to produce the 3D ball animation. When Luca was showing me how to do frames on Maya with my other project (which was the bonnie walking animation) He showed me how to keyframe and frame things.


So? How do you toggle frames and keyframes? What you'll want to do is produce a pose for one frame and once you're satisfied with the pose, press 's' on the keyboard and a keyframe is implemented. You can adapt this at any time if something seems off. In addition, you can auto keyframe toggle by delocking the position and can lock itself The advice I was given is to work about every 3-6 frames in between. This way it creates aan imtidation of realism (inside the figure) and measures consistency. This week (13-17th of May) I've been working on my 3D Ball Animation. I set keyframes and keyposes for the ball. Here's my video for the 3D ball animation:

Overall I enjoyed the ball animations. Preferably the 3D animation. As for the 3D animation however I found it personally annoying to implement the transcript into a 3D object. I didn't get worked up about it, it was more of the case why something could be complex to set up.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page